Heading hidden

In Partnership with

HND in Computing (Network Engineering)

Course overview

Our full time HND in Computing (Network Engineering) is a computing course which specialises in network design and engineering.  This Pearson BTEC HND level 5 qualification is delivered in partnership with Tyne Coast College.

We have crafted a course to equip you with the knowledge, understanding and skills required for success in current and future employment in an ever expanding IT and computing industries. At level 4 you will establish core skills in computing before choosing this specialist pathway at level 5. You will study modules in network design, cloud computing and network security using our cutting edge facilities using Microsoft and Cisco academy principles with Web services, Microsoft Azure cloud platform and servers from our long-time partner Linton Technologies Limited.

Throughout your final year you will also undertake an individual project working on a real computing problem and we encourage development of your employability skills through work experience and links within our employment partners.

Class sessions will be complemented by independent, self-directed learning using a Virtual Learning Environment (Moodle).

Full-time study is fifteen hours per week, over three terms, including tutorial time. It is expected that for every hour spent in the classroom, the equivalent is dedicated to independent, self-directed learning outside contact hours. The delivery of the course may be a combination of online and face-to-face delivery if required.

Entry requirements

A Level 3 relevant qualification or 80 UCAS points or equivalent and a minimum of GCSE English and maths grade 4 or higher, or equivalent.

The College has a commitment to widening participation in Higher Education, and will therefore give careful consideration to prior experiential learning, non-traditional qualifications and qualifications obtained outside of the United Kingdom.  All students must demonstrate a level 2 literacy and numeracy competence.

Course Modules

Year 1 – Level 4

  • Programming
  • Networking
  • Professional Practice
  • Database Design & Development
  • Security
  • Managing a Successful Computing Project (Pearson-set unit).
  • Strategic Information Systems
  • Website Design & Development.

Year 2 – Level 5

  • Computing Research Project (Pearson-set)
  • Business Intelligence
  • Transport Network Design
  • Cloud Computing
  • Network Security
  • Information Systems Management
  • Systems Integration

How will I be assessed?

Units will be assessed using a variety of methods: reports, seminars, presentations, practical workshops, academic essays, screencasts and portfolios of evidence. Alternative assessment methods may be used where appropriate.

What can I do next?

On successful completion of the full time HND, you can opt to ‘top-up’ to a BSc Honours Degree in a relevant computing field at university.

Alternatively, this is an industry recognised qualification to gain work in computing and IT sector. Possible career pathways may include: Network Engineer, Technical Support Engineer, IT Technician, Cloud Server Engineer.

College Campuses

London Aldgate East and 7 Sisters, Manchester and Bolton